What Kind Of Week Its Been

Work Growler

It has been a week and I offer this bit of advice:  Don’t do what I did.  If you leave one job to take another, please take a week between jobs.  Try not to do both at the same time and give yourself a break.

Last week I started working at Craft Tasting Room and Growler Shop while I was working at Lowe’s.  That would not have been too bad if I was getting more than 4 hours of sleep per day.  I stuck around to help the store do inventory.  That meant being up at 5 a.m.  By the end of last week I was ragged out and exhausted.  I now have a true understanding of the effects of sleep deprivation.  After a couple of days off, lots of sleep, and home projects that required no real thinking this week was great.

First, it is just fun serving and talking about beer.  I finally get to use all the random beer knowledge stocked in my brain for good and not my own personal drinking.  Second, we have a good team. From Dan and Alyson down through the rest of the team, we are a solid team that gets along with each other.

I’ve made the right decision.  That isn’t in doubt for me, but I would be lying if I said on Friday when I drove over to Craft that the thought, “I quit my safe job at Lowe’s, what the hell am I doing?” didn’t float through my mind repeatedly.

Anyway, my favorite beers we have on tap right this moment are:  Lonerider Brewing Sweet Josie Brown Ale, Greenman Brewery IPA, Granite Falls Elephant Peanut Butter Ale, Howard Brewing Lake Fever Black IPA, and Blue Mountain Dark Hollow.  Come by soon if you want to try these because once the kegs are empty we bring something else on line, but you’ll end up liking those just as much.

Now that I am actually sleeping like a normal person and my life has settled down a little, I’ll be back to writing most if not every day.  I’m making progress on my Road To Cicerone German Styles studies.  I will hopefully wrap that up in the next month or so and then start on the British curriculum.

I’ll be heading over to Craft this afternoon, see you soon.

Leave a Reply

