A post full of a lot of nothing. Not quite mailing it in, but close.

This is one of those days that thing I tried to write for the blog actually got written.  Then I thought about it and then I read it and I came to the conclusion that it was crap.  Not that I don’t believe in the subject matter, but that I may have overstated my thesis and in retrospect I detest my own approach to it.

What I was trying to write about is how many of the cultural elites in today’s Internet/Twitter age speak to each other and to us in an echo chamber.  They not only all seem to live in the same metropolitan areas (the DC to Boston corridor or Los Angeles) they also all talk to each other and to us via Twitter and blog posts.  Name a controversial/popular subject and within two days of each other at least five separate writers will post slightly similar takes on the subject with each seemingly building on something the previous posts said.

Don’t get me wrong.  I know what those things say because I read them.  I read most of them.  However, there are moments when I’m reading something and it dawns on me that this writer and I, despite agreeing on many things, see the world in totally different ways.  That is not a problem.  The problem is that the next four articles I read on the same subject make me think the same thing.  Why is that?

I don’t know.  How about that?  I’ve been trying to write this thing for five hours over two days and all I can say is that, I don’t know.  (Imagine that.  A blog post that doesn’t come to a definite conclusion.)

I cannot be education.  I have a similar education to most of the writers I read.  Is it the things that we like?  Possibly.  The depth of knowledge of one subject is the coin of the realm for pop culture geeks.  It creates a myopia that could color how you think or what you write.  Again though, I think the same way so that doesn’t really hold water as to why I sometimes feel out of touch with the premise of the articles.  Could it be geography both physical and through social media?  Again, I don’t know.  I think the echo chamber of the Internet/blogs/Twitter maybe the biggest contributing factor, but again I am a participant in that echo chamber.  Why do I still see things completely different?

So what am I getting at?  Nothing really.  This was a tale told by an idiot, full of (some) sound and (very little) fury, signifying nothing.

Leave a Reply

