These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things

I am sitting watching soccer and drinking a good loose leaf tea.  These are two of my favorite things to do.  Then that song started going through my head.  The Supremes version from Merry Christmas: The Supremes.  So I started thinking, what are my favorite things?

Here we go:

A good cup of loose leaf tea.  Preferably, Earl Grey.

I like loose leaf tea partially because it tastes better, but also because of the act of making the tea makes it a little more special.  It is a process and it allows you to make it as strong or as weak as you like.  As an aside drinking tea without a little milk/cream is wrong.  As an aside, the reason I gravitated to Earl Grey, Jean-Luc Picard.

Soccer on a Saturday (or any other day)

Whether it be a three-game run of Premiership matches or a Saturday afternoon to Saturday night of Major League Soccer matches, the Monday Night Soccer on in the middle of Monday afternoons from England, FA Cup games on the weekdays, CONCACAF Champions League on random weeknights, and UEFA Champions League matches on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, soccer is part of my DNA at this point.

A good barley wine on a cold winter night

Beer may be my favorite thing on this Earth.  I love beer in all of its forms.  I even love lager when done well.  However, when the days turn short and the nights cold, a big barley wine is one of my favorite things.  They are big, sweet, thick, and have the heat and touch of alcohol that warms you to your core.

Bourbon

Speaking of alcohol, those same cold nights are enlivened with a good finger or two of bourbon.  My preferred way to drink it is neat.  The unadorned alcohol and caramel sweetness makes the nights go faster, the books read better, and the music sound finer.

A good song

I love singer-songwriters who can make you feel everything that went into their songs.  Right now, I’m still loving on the Jason Isbell album Southeastern.  There is so much to unpack in the lyrics on that album that I find new things each time I listen.  If you just listen to the song “Yvette” you will hear one of the best short stories you have ever read.

A good sentence or paragraph that changes how you see the world

I’ll close here with what may be my favorite passage in the English language.  The Great Gatsby is my favorite piece of fiction and this is the paragraph that inspires and cows me on a daily basis:

The only completely stationary object in the room was an enormous couch on which two young women were buoyed up as though upon an anchored balloon. They were both in white, and their dresses were rippling and fluttering as if they had just been blown back in after a short flight around the house. I must have stood for a few moments listening to the whip and snap of the curtains and the groan of a picture on the wall. Then there was a boom as Tom Buchanan shut the rear windows and the caught wind died out about the room, and the curtains and the rugs and the two young women ballooned slowly to the floor.

Leave a Reply

