Day 15 and 16: Chopping through the wilderness with a machete

I didn’t post yesterday because I just wanted to get up and jump in to the writing.  I had a little ground to make up and too many ideas flying around in my head.   I made up some of the ground and I’m going to pick up a little more today and tomorrow.

My work schedule has gotten me writing in the afternoon and evening today and tomorrow.

Currently, I am at a little over 26,000 words.  I am dead in the middle of it.  I feel like I’m on some journey through a rain forest and I’m just hacking my way through with a machete, hoping I’ve picked the right direction because I honestly have only the most minute sense of where the hell the clearing is.  I know it’s there and I have a notion of what it is, but I can’t give you definitive explanation of it.

Just finished listening to an interview Ron Rash did on WFAE in Charlotte this morning.  It was great to listen to even if Mike Collins’ and his enthusiasm sometimes gets in the way of the person he is interviewing.  The World Made Straight is one of my favorite novels and I am making my way through his newest short story collection Nothing Gold Can Stay.  The thing I like the most about Rash is that he is like Faulkner and Joyce in using one particular place to speak to the universal.

Enough procrastination.  Time to get to work.

3 Responses to “Day 15 and 16: Chopping through the wilderness with a machete”

  1. I so often relate to what you say! Writing is such a powerful thing. Lately I have felt more like… the swamp vines have tangled around me, and I can’t get my machete loose, *grins* it is a sad state of affairs!
    Anyway, I thought I would share this with you, if you like http://anactofwriting.wordpress.com/2013/04/20/liebsteraward/

    • Thanks for the nomination. I always find it gratifying and surprising when people find things I’ve written interesting. I haven’t written on the blog as much as I would like to, but with work and Camp NANOWRIMO taking up a great deal of space in my mind it has been hard. I think I’ve gotten through the vexing part of novel. I can see the end shaping up and I’m actually looking forward to finishing so I can start the editing. The camp has taught me that while writers are as a rule antisocial misfits (me definitely included), we love talking to each other about writing and need to talk to each other about writing, because we are the only ones who know what we go through to write a complete work.

      • I have to laugh at the antisocial misfits *grins* but… I actually can’t write alone. Believe it or not, I have a few friends without whom, I do not write at all. *shrugs* no clue why, but writing for me is about the only “social” activity I do…
        and NaNo is one of the best things on the planet if you ask me! I am sadly still stuck in mine… having not even written on it in a couple days, which for me is highly unusual… I just can’t seem to get past my “stuck” lmao

Leave a Reply

