Day 8: Work Gets In The Way

Yesterday was not as good a day of writing as I had hoped.  I felt bad for most of the morning and then had to get to work.

This experience is teaching me two things.  One, don’t drink any alcoholic beverages after 8 p.m. if you are going to write the next morning.  I need to be awake and functional too early to drink too much.  Two, I need a new job.

This first 8 days has been one of the most satisfying experiences I have ever had because every day is dedicated to one thing, writing.  That is all I have ever wanted to do in my life.  I have another job that pays my bills but it gets in the way of the thing I want to do most.  It isn’t just that it hampers my writing.  It is I also feel guilty going in every day and not giving my employer my best and my full attention.  I’m in there thinking about writing and what my characters are thinking and what they are going to do next.  That is not fair to the employer.  I am paid to do a job and give it my whole attention so that I can do it well.  I don’t think I can do that or in this case fake that for much longer.

Anyway, on to today’s writing session.  I need to put in a few more words.

I am worried about one thing though.  Writing words and scenes just to hit my word pace.  If I am adding words that may be unnecessary, I’ll fix that in the editing next month.  Right now, it is about putting as many words and ideas down to be fixed later.

Leave a Reply

