My take, not that it means anything.

Monday night after the Elite 8 and I can’t help but think about what I watched this weekend. I am not a Tarheel fan….no big story there. But I have to say, the thing that got me about UNC’s game with Kansas is the way they quit. The 2012 version of the Tarheels will forever be an enigma. A hell of a lot of talent that was unfulfilled. I’ll be the first to say that Stillman White did not distribute the ball to the rest of the team in the right position for them to score. But he played hard….I can’t say that for the rest of the team. The rest of the guys on the team quit. Just as Duke losing Rivers will be addition by subtraction….I truly think Harrison Barnes leaving will make Carolina better. But I don’t see him making a splash in the NBA….or making 5 years in the NBA for that matter. He has Europe written all over him. And just like Julius Hodge, he will be out of pro basketball in any capacity before he sees 30 years old…..if that. Also, it is a sad statement of the talent in the ACC when Tyler Zeller is the player of the year.

Carolina and Duke, will be Carolina and Duke, and will be back near the top soon. But if something isn’t done by the NBA….get used to Kentucky to be on top for a while….we just won’t have a clue who is on their team, because it will be an all freshman team year in and year out. As for my Wolfpack…..we will see how everyone mesh with the freshman that are coming in….just because they are talented, doesn’t mean Gottfried will be able to make the upperclassmen give up their playing time for the superheros coming in.

Eightball is back in the pocket.

Leave a Reply

