People we will be living with until January

I could not come up with something to write about this morning.  My attention had been taken by the ants invading my kitchen.  I think I got killed all of them and the kitchen has been cleaned with bleach.

Anyway, I was stumped as to what to write about until I found Richard Dietsch’s article about college football announcers.  I will admit, I am bad about noticing announcers.  I only notice them if they are really good or really bad.  Most announcers are just background noise to me.  I just need time, score, situation, who has the ball, and who is making the tackle.  If an analyst can breakdown the game and teach me something that is a bonus and if the play-by-play announcer entertains me, then so much the better.

I had forgotten Gus Johnson was doing college games for FOX now.  That could be fun if he gets a bunch of Pac 12 and Big 12 shoot outs.

To take from Dietsch’s column, here are my picks for announcers:

Must Watch

For me, this depends on the game.  Usually, Brent Musburger and Kirk Herbstreit have the biggest game of the day and Verne Lundquist and Gary Danielson have the biggest SEC game of the day, so they are my usual must watch teams.  HOwever, I do agree that two guys who should get more love from the ESPN brass are Sean McDonough and Ed Cunningham.  McDonough has always been one of my favorite announcers:  understated professional and always rises to the emotional moment of the game.  Cunningham is one of the guys I actually learn something from as an analyst.  As an ACC guy, I get a lot of Tim Brandt during football and basketball season and generally like his work.

Least Appealing

This was the easiest category.  Lou Holtz and Craig James.  Lou is just bad at television especially in a studio setting.  His interactions with Mark seem forced and are not entertaining.  James is the jock who has mistaken his athletic success as some kind of marker of intelligence.  He violates one of the main rules of true intelligence:  Knowing how smart you are not.  Plus, his whole Mike Leach/Bruce Feldman mess leaves a bad mark on him and ESPN.  May and Jesse Palmer are innocuous enough.  If they were alone with good play-by-play guys they might be tolerable.  Instead, they are stuck with Lou and James.

What would I change about ESPN’s coverage

Less James and Holtz.  More McDonough, Cunningham, and Reese Davis.  Treating the enterprise as a journalistic excercise with huge entertainment value instead of the other way around. This may be heresy, but I also have very little use for sideline reporters.  They have two main jobs:  tell me who is hurt and how bad; let me know what has happened in a mess like the end of the Music City Bowl.  We get very little from the coach interviews before game and at half-time.

Anyway.  The season is about to begin and for that we are all happy.

Leave a Reply

